CHRISTMAS 2K12

(With sincerest apologies to Clement Clarke Moore)

Twas the night before Christmas, and all through the house
No noise could be heard, save the click of a mouse
No stockings were hung by the chimney with care
We don’t have a chimney- our walls, they were bare.

It wouldn’t be long before I went to bed
Reflections of laptop screens burned in my head
Another late night, like some others before
“Get to bed early?” Nope, I’m not a bore.

A noise from the door took my eyes from the screen
I moved to the living room, to see what had been
Though there in the dark, my vision was hazy
What I saw before me, I was sure I was crazy.

Santa Claus, smiling, just inside our door
He said, “You’re not crazy- well, no more than before.”
I blinked, shook my head, wondered what I was seeing
A fat man, a myth, was a real human being?

He knew my question before it was said
“Why am I here?” he asked, straight from my head
“You’re no kid anymore, you don’t need more stuff
You’ve got a nice house, your life’s not all that rough.”

“Christmas isn’t about iPods, or cars, or those things
Not turkey, or cookies, or big diamond rings
Not sales, not gift cards, anything you can buy
Let’s just review, the real reasons why:”

“Be together with family, together with friends
Find your joy where you can, and to others, you send
The gladdest of tidings, the best that you can
Isn’t that what we owe to our fellow man?”

The smirk of his hit me, the way that it could
He knew me too well, this man- well, he would
I ran back to my keyboard, my screen, it was lit
To share these glad tidings, I’d be here for a bit

To Facebook, to Twitter; emails, a must!
LinkedIn- eh, not there (and not Google+)
From the tap of a keyboard, to the tap of a phone
Send them all out (and don’t charge to roam)

The wiseguy with sentiment, well, that’s who I am
Can’t change it for trying, yeah, I’m a gem
So my heartfelt greeting, to all who are in sight:
“Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night!”

Leave a Reply

