Being in the moment

I was surprised a couple of weeks back, when good buddy Andy struck with an unexpected comment that nailed how I do this “MC” thing. Paraphrasing some (because I don’t remember exactly what he said):

“Dave, I know you get nervous before you get up there, but you’re great once you get in the moment, aren’t you?”

I remember it feeling like a weird segue at the time, but it hit home, and I agreed emphatically with him. That’s exactly how I feel about anytime I do any kind of public speaking.

Most of my life, I hated public speaking. I recall lying to get out of a presentation in elementary school (and me being a great student, they managed to miss my misdirection… or just didn’t tell me that they knew I’d lied), and always got really jittery before anything I had to say in front of people.

The funny part is that at some point, I got good at it, and now it’s not nearly as big a deal. I still get nervous on occasion, but there are times I just go and do it without thinking. I’ve MCed wedding receptions, host a podcast listened to by dozens (DOZENS) of people, and am game for pretty much anything they’ll ask me to do where I get a microphone and a free canvas to talk.

It’s not an exagerration to say it was something of a turning point in my life when Mike and Leah asked me to MC their wedding reception- with none of us really sure what it would mean. As much as fear consumed me at points, I discovered that I relished the challenge of preparing to be in front of people. And let’s face it, I’m a bit of a ham in a crowd.

The presentation skills I learned from that- not to mention the idea of being confident in my own skin- are things that really help me where I am now. Being a so-called “relationship officer”, meeting new people nearly every day, you’d better be good on your feet. And I am, for the most part.

It’s strange, though: If you asked me to remember a specific portion of any event I’ve MCed, or anytime I’ve done public speaking, I probably wouldn’t remember. Once I get into it, I almost lose myself ‘in the moment’, as Andy described it. The instincts take over.

Which might explain why I’m overthinking all the time, if I’m going on instinct so often.

Leave a Reply

