A little of this, and a little of that

Here’s some video footage of Dennis’ car, from when he got it a while back. It was sitting on the hard drive of my old laptop for some time, and I excavated it before it gave up the ghost last week.

A couple of notes, as I watch it for the first time in a while:

– I don’t remember why I had a CD in my hand… I think I was bringing it out to Dad’s car. Can’t remember why I didn’t just put it down and do it later, that seemed unnecessarily complicated.
– Why people have camcorders: So that the “Blair Witch/Bourne Supremacy” shaky camera stupidity isn’t perpetuated. I’d have cut that out if I wasn’t lazy, and the immediacy and commentary in it didn’t appeal to my journalistic side.

I think I have a laptop post coming (I have a new one, and pictures of my attempted repair of the old), and something else that’s been brewing for a while on the personal front, but I wanted to post on the Flames while it was fresh in my mind.

It’s hard to be optimistic about the season with what I’ve seen so far… a humiliating 6-0 loss in the opener, and then a stomach-punch 5-4 loss in overtime when they had leads of 3-1 and 4-3, and were unable to hold them. This was right, as the Flames were terrible in their own zone in both games, with a lot of turnovers and bad coverage, seeming slow to the puck and the man (or Vancouver fast, alternately).

The Flames have been overrated defensively for some time, with Dion Phaneuf receiving the lion’s share of the media attention. But those who watch the team know he’s still got a ways to go in his own zone. He has no business being near a Norris Trophy right now.

Miikka Kiprusoff has to be better. In an absurd extrapolation, he’s on pace to give up 454 goals this year after two games- which won’t hold up, obviously, but is a very troubling sign. The team has let him down in front of him, but it’s clear to anyone watching he’s not on his game. He’s giving up rebounds, seems to be slower laterally, and… well, he’s given up 11 goals in two games.

It’s not rational, but here’s how I feel: It’s not “He’s going to stop it” when the puck gets near the Flames net now, it’s “I’m holding my breath and hoping they somehow don’t score”. And that’s not a feeling I had when the Flames got in on Luongo, one of the three best in the league right now (and showing it in the first game, as well as the last two periods of this one). You know he’s going to bail you out. I don’t know if the Flames still have that with Kipper.

The new guys seemed to be among the best players for the Flames in both games, with Roy, Camalleri, Bourque, and Bertuzzi (Ugh, I wish it wasn’t so. Micky has a gold line on him, I wish I remembered it correctly) notching the goals tonight. Hmm… doesn’t say a lot for the vets, does it?

This and this come back to me now. Not that it’s all on Iron Mike the coach, but it’s hard not to look at a 6-0 drubbing in the season opener and say, “That team was not prepared to play”.

That’s all for now.

One thought on “A little of this, and a little of that

Leave a Reply

