Starve a cold, feed a fever

I’m not sure whether to laugh or cry at this. I started with the former, and have moved onto the latter (entirely because of the former, to be certain… that’s funny stuff right there).

I took a sick day on Sunday. An actual, honest-to-goodness do-nothing sick day, where I did nothing more strenuous than walk upstairs and plant myself on the couch to watch movies I’d saved on the folks’ PVR (Personal Video Recorder- essentially a hard drive for a TV, as I understand it). I’ve come to the conclusion that sick days were more fun and less painful as a child than as an adult.

The movies are actually a decent story to get into. As part of the cable package the folks upgraded to when they moved back, they got some movie channels. So I’ve made a habit of scanning through them for movies that I’m moderately interested in seeing, and having them recorded for future viewing.

I’m three for four on PVR pulls so far- Two For The Money (dumb, but enjoyable), Stranger Than Fiction (I keep hoping it was better), Breach (great, but long), and We Are Marshall (powerful, dramatic, though Matt McConaghey could have been better as the lead).

Still need to get through Gladiator (seen the end, strangely, but not the beginning), Blood Diamond (will more than likely be watching this with Dennis or alone) and The Last King of Scotland (ditto).

Breach and We Are Marshall were the choices for the sick day… I
almost started Blood Diamond for the second one before realizing I’d
already seen a pretty heavy movie with Breach, and deciding I wanted
something a little more uplifting. Come to think of it, I could probably stand
to be a little less english major-y in my movie choices if the prior
paragraph is any indication. All I would need is No Country For Old Men and Juno to make that set complete.

Dating has made me more open minded in terms of that, though. I’ve accepted the idea of having to see a certain percentile of ‘chick flicks’, though Kim’s instincts have been fairly good so far.

Robert De Niro in ‘Stardust’, though? Downright creepy (him, not the movie, which was surprisingly good). You want to see someone playing against type, go see that movie.

Micky probably stopped reading about four paragraphs ago, so I’m tying this one off here.

3 thoughts on “Starve a cold, feed a fever

  1. mickyo

    I actually read the whole thing, believe it or not. As for movies, just watch The Departed again. I think you are underrating Two for the Money. I’d also say look up some objective sources alongside Blood Diamond. Micky

  2. Shnuff

    I am sorry to have misjudged you, sir.I think I may actually have gotten ‘The Departed’ on the PVR today, since I remember spotting it last night. If not, I will definitely rectify that, since I do want to see it. As for Two For The Money, my assessment stands. I enjoyed the movie, but thought it difficult to take seriously, though it was an interesting commentary on gambling. Pacino and McConaghey (I’ve seen a LOT of movies with him lately) are actually too over-the-top for me, even for that movie.-DaveC

  3. Shnuff

    Also, with your recommendation, I’ll probably take Blood Diamond with a grain of salt. Though I probably wasn’t going in expecting an accurate documentary, I appreciate the heads up.-DaveC

Leave a Reply

