Quick hits (with Youtube links)

Still, far and away, the best rendition of Carol of the Bells you’ll ever find. I will not argue this.

The Flames off to a ho-hum start under Mike Keenan, sitting around .500 at 15 games in. Wasn’t he supposed to fire up the troops? Don’t worry, he was a good coach fifteen years ago, I’m sure he’ll figure it out.

Jason Maxiell is a beast. Just mute the sound when the song starts at about 30 seconds and watch the highlights.

Good thing the Blue Jays gave Vernon Wells and Lyle Overbay horrendously backloaded deals, so they can’t do anything to improve what was a pretty listless offense at times last season. I’m still angry at the ignorant Sportsnet anchor who thought that was a good thing last year.

The best part is, everyone expects the improved pitching to carry over to next year, which probably won’t happen, between Burnett’s inconsistency and the entire league now having tape on the Jays young guns. I think I may have to put J.P. Ricciardi’s name alongside Mike Keenan on my “people involved with my favourite teams who need to be fired” list.

On that note, Darryl Sutter might be underrated in the arts of GMing. Question his acquisitions as much as you want (or attribute Kipper to luck, which is defendable), but he’s gotten three of the Flames cornerstones signed to at or below market deals, which hasn’t gotten nearly enough attention. If he can work that magic with Phaneuf in a year or two, the Flames will be contending for a while.

My hands are going to be crying foul by next Sunday, with all the writing I’ve done the last couple of weeks. But it’ll be totally worth it. That’s what I need to keep telling myself.

Tuxedos seem to have a lot of extra parts. Haha, just kidding… or am I?

That is all.

2 thoughts on “Quick hits (with Youtube links)

  1. Emmetovich

    As long as the extra parts all get returned with the tuxes, we’re in good shape. I have no idea why they didn’t let you guys take the tuxes home tonight. Mike and I had no problem this afternoon. Except that Mike’s shoes were too big. Oh, well. That should be fixed by Friday.

Leave a Reply

