Musings on NaNoWriMo

So I came across this NaNoWriMo site again the other day, and it brought back fond memories of my abject failiure there in 2004.

For the uninitiated, NaNoWriMo (or, National Novel Writing Month) is a contest of sorts, where people from all across the world attempt to write a 50 000 word novel in a month- namely, the month of November. The idea behind it is to just create, without worrying about proofreading, or editing, or refining. You have to forget your inner perfectionist, to get that many words out in that little time.

There isn’t really a reward if you win, save for the incredible sense of pride and accomplishment you get from actually finishing a work of that size, and being able to say that you wrote ‘a novel’. And it’s mostly based on the honor system, so you can cheat, and work on it early (though to get the ‘badge’, you have to submit your final work to a team of people, apparently, and they check the word count. I can’t confirm this. That’s just what it says on the site).

Here’s the thing: I’ve tried this, and failed before, as I mentioned above. I know I’m a nitpicker, and that’s mostly what killed me. I write/roleplay on the side already, and will probably be spending a lot of time on schoolwork (which means more time on the keyboard, exhausting my linguistic talents). But I’m thinking of entering, despite all this. What the heck is wrong with me!?

My working theory is that I’m a sucker for punishment, or overly competitive. Beyond that, maybe I want to see if I can crank out a serious work like that, with that kind of a constraining deadline.

Maybe I’ll just copy a couple of Ryan‘s blog entries.

That’s all I’ve got for now.

3 thoughts on “Musings on NaNoWriMo

  1. xstarfall

    I would totally enter NaNoWriMo if I had ANY ideas on what to write a story about. Everything that ever comes to me can be resolved in four chapters… And… I’m a terrible nitpicker too.

  2. xstarfall

    HAHA! I don’t know, 50 000 words? There’s only so many ways you can say ‘has no life!’ 😉
    Or wait, wait! So we can have like ten main characters, who all watch LOST and are all oddly good-looking. Then we can have flashbacks in their lives while they come together watch LOST every Wednesday. I love it!

Leave a Reply

