Like that really irritating weed

I mark my return from the page of shame (providing Xanga’s update thing is tickety-boo)
 with an entry worthy of song. But not like a top 40 song, or a classic like ‘Hotel California’ or ‘Stairway to Heaven’. More like one of those songs that you like the first couple of times you listen to a CD, forget about a couple of weeks later, and then when you come back and listen to the CD a couple of years later you’re like, “Oh yeah. That’s a good song.” One of those.

I’ve made the remark several times that 3 seems to be the magic number in movies this summer, with Mission Impossible 3, X-Men 3, and the third Spiderman movie all seeing the light of day at some point in the next couple of months. I’ve heard it argued that Hollywood has sequel-itis- a lot of what’s coming out is sequels or remakes of older movies. I’d imagine this is something the MBA sorts (Masters of Buisness Administration) love- established franchise, existing script, and in some cases, you don’t need to make a lot of new characters. As a moviegoer, I’d like to see a little more originality.

(So what movies have I seen recently? X-Men 3 and MI:3. And I’ll probably hit up the Spiderman and Pirates of the Carribean sequel at some point. Yes sirree, I’m sticking to my guns here. Or maybe all the original stuff just sucks.)

‘Canes in 6. Mavericks in 7.

That done, I will leave you with what might be the greatest thing you will ever see. Until someone else puts up a Youtube link, anyway.

3 thoughts on “Like that really irritating weed

  1. Emmetovich

    If its sequels you’re looking for, Hollywood seems ready to deliver. There is, of course, the highly anticipated new Superman movie this summer. It actually looks quite good, not in the least because Superman has fine taste in beverages.http://www2.pepsi.yahoo.com/dailyplanet/landing.php
    There is also the return of Rocky Balboa this summer in…Rocky Balboa. Not Rocky VI, which would be much better. Sly is also apparently working on Rambo IV, to be released next year.
    I don’t think Spiderman 3 is due until next year, but I also intend on catching X-Men 3 and the new Pirates at some point during the summer.

  2. DangeresqueDan

    HAHAHA that Mario thing was awesome, I love it. ANd ya I think I would like to see some more original movies, but you know people just run out of ideas its like actors to it seems like. When one of them is on a hot streak they put them in every single movie that comes out that year and then next year you dont see them at all. Or so it seems sometimes. Anyways I havent seen X3 or MI3 so I might have to go see them. Peace!

  3. InnerFreq

    You should write an original movie.  Who knows, they might like it.  Oh, wait, it would probably be clever and require thought and… oh, well just forget the whole thing.  We both know execs aren’t into that kind of stuff.
    Tanks for the gif!

Leave a Reply

