Laptop confessional

Bought the preceding book for Dad for his birthday, and as is a developing custom, he lent it to me and Dennis when he was done. An outstanding book, for anyone with an interest in baseball, and a fondness for the strategy.

That done, I have a confession to make.

It’s difficult, but after a conversation today, I felt I had to share it with you. It’s quite possible you’ll never look at me the same again, but dangit, I needed to get it off my chest. So leave now, if you’re not prepared to enter the abyss that is my mind.

Deep breath. Alright. I can do this.

I’ve never gone skiing. Ever.

It came up when I was talking to Alex earlier, shortly after I’d gotten home from the morning exam (last one! yay!) and he broached the possibility of going snowboarding or skiing on Thursday. I responded that I had a tepid interest in it, though I’m not sure if even that isn’t overestimating it.

He asked what kind of skiier I was, and I shrugged. He looked at me as if I’d suddenly sprouted a third arm in the middle of my forehead, and the hand from said arm was waving at him.

“I’ve never gone skiing,” I admitted, after a silence.

“Never?” he asked, incredulous.

I nodded, and braced myself for the inevitable. I’d heard the lecture before, and I didn’t particularly want to hear it again. This close to the mountains, winter all the time, yadda yadda yadda. I know, it’s a crime against humanity, and such. But it is what it is.

I’ve always been a summer sports kind of guy. Basketball, baseball, road hockey, football, frisbee, and other sports that don’t require gear, toques, or mittens that can’t keep my thumbs warm. Skiing, ice hockey, snowboarding, all the wintery sorts of things that people in Alberta seemed to enjoy, I’d never really invested myself in.

Maybe it was the warm summers in Ontario that got me. Maybe it was the blustery, wet cold of Nova Scotia that turned me off of them. I couldn’t really say. But I’ve never gone skiing or snowboarding, and I doubt that’ll change in the near future.

Later, folks.

9 thoughts on “Laptop confessional

  1. Anonymous

    I feel your pain.
    People ask me if I ski or snowboard.  I tell them I was an avid skier before university.  And by avid, I mean I’d skied 4 times before university, with 3/4 times before hitting highschool.
    I always told myself I’d get back into skiing but with 1.5 ankles, I doubt that will ever happen.
    Oh, if you need to fend off the people who claim that not-skiing is a crime against humanity, you can borrow my walker and smite them with it.

  2. atomic_spirituality

    If God had wanted us to hurtle down mountainsides at breakneck speed, He would have given us extra long feet made of a slippery material.
    I too have never gone skiing. I have only been snowboarding once. I have enough trouble remaining upright on the two feet that God gave me. I do not need to make it more difficult.
    That is all.

  3. no_wings

    I also have never gone skiing. And I haven’t been snowboarding. Considering the injuries I incur through daily life activities, I don’t think adding a pair of skis or a snowboard are a good idea.
    -Kristen

  4. Anonymous

    I have been skiing once….on a bunny hill in grade 6.I have not gone again…..I’m not big on the winter sports actually.

  5. xstarfall

    Oh Kristen, you’re so funny 🙂 … but it’s true, I won’t deny…I’ve only gone skiing once, too. In jr. high I think. So no worries Dave, look at all of our skiing-lacking!

  6. mickyo

    It is worth going skiing once, you might like it.  I didn’t really, but a lot of people do.  I have been about four times in my life.  I think the quality of the lesson instruction the first time is one of the biggest factors in whether or not a person likes skiing.  Water skiing is probably more fun, but just riding in the boat is more fun than that. 
    Micky

  7. miguel_senchez

    The problem with skiing or snowboarding is that is impractical to really get into it unless you want to work as a ski lift operator and live at the hill or something. I go about once or twice a year and really enjoy it but the drive is long and the cost is not low. Now badminton is a sport you can really get into! I mean who doesn’t like badminton? Nobody, that’s who!And Micky, you are way off-base on the water skiing thing. But if that’s the way you feel, maybe we could go out the lake and you could tow me around all day. Then we could kick back after a long day with a couple bottles of Terrible and BBQ some steaks. Mike

Leave a Reply

