I’ve come to report on the New Years Eve type shenanigans.

I didn’t make it through- gave up the ghost about forty minutes into
“The Empire Strikes Back”, at about 7:30 this morning, after drifting
in and out through “A New Hope”. Better than some- certainly better
than I thought I’d do- but I didn’t finish.

I don’t know who else made it. I woke up around 11:30, and Alex and Dennis were talking- I’d wager that’s around the time we finished. I assume Alex did, but I really couldn’t say for sure.

All in all, I think things went very well, though we got started later
than we wanted to. Dart gun fights broke out before the movies started
(part of the reason for lateness, methinks), and in between movies to
keep the circulation going. I assume we’ll be finding darts downstairs
for weeks.

There was a debate about doing it in episode order, or in release
order, and we eventually settled on the former. We agreed that if we
were showing it to our kids, we’d do the latter- but since we were all
familiar with the material, we wanted to do it the other way. Ryan
had a compelling argument  for release, centred around the “I am
your father” scene in Empire, and how it loses it’s effect if you know
who Vader is. I conceded that point, though countered with the
statement that this particular scene had one of the worst bits of
overacting in television history (MikeW, thankfully, corrected that to “cinematic” for me).

Four pizzas, three bags of chips, a handful of beers, a bottle of
champagne, and an uncountable number of cans of pop gave their lives in
service of this grand escapade. Farewell, meat lovers- we hardly knew
thee.

That’s all, folks.

5 thoughts on “

  1. Matuga

    Possible spoiler on the off chance you haven’t seen Revenge of the Sith below. You’ve been I like how the 1-3 Anakin was there at the end of the recently edited releases of “Return of the Jedi” with Obi-Wan and Yoda instead of that middle-aged guy that’s there in the older versions. Makes me glad I lasted through all of it.I gotta honestly say I almost sympathised with Anakin’s dillemna in RoTS. If only he knew that one of his choices had both bad consequences with it.

  2. miguel_senchez

    Great post Dave, and great party too! Many thanks to you and Dennis and Alex for being such excellent hosts. I am disappointed that I couldn’t make it all the way through but mildly comforted by the fact that I wasn’t the only one.  We should start to turn our thoughts to next year.  I heard the suggestion of doing all (10 or 11?) Star Trek movies, but I think that would require we start on the 28th and not stop until the 2nd.  Oh well, I guess we have a few days before we have to decide.  Once again thanks.  You guys were really good for opening your place and I am sorry that we turned it into a sty and then left due to exhaustion. Reparations are in order.  I hereby grant you and your household the right to come into my room and rearrange all of my CD’s so they are no longer in alphabetic order.  That’ll show me.  Later Dave!
    Mike

  3. Emmetovich

    Yes, what series of visual media to watch next year? If we did choose the Star Trek series, we could skip Star Trek I and V. Although it’s been several years since I’ve seen either, I may have a change of heart about their viewability. The rest of the series is quite enjoyable…maybe not in one sitting.I think we should pick something a little less ambitious. Perhaps Indiana Jones? Or Back to the Future? Or Superman?

  4. Shnuff

    I WAS being facetious when I suggested Trek, but it was the only series off the top of my head that would have dwarfed Star Wars in terms of length. I’d say we do something less ambitious, so people have a chance of making it through. Go back to the trilogy type of thing.Good call on the ones we can safely skip, though. You might be able to add IV to the list, since “nu-cle-arr wessels” isn’t nearly as funny to anyone who wasn’t around for the Cold War. But then, it was the third in the ‘trilogy’ of II, III, and IV, so it was a necessary evil.In any case, we’ve got about… oh… 360 days to decide.-DaveC

  5. Emmetovich

    Star Trek IV is one of my favourites! I know it’s not favoured among a lot of people, but it was seriously the only Trek movie my parents would actually sit down to watch. “There be whales here!” is Scotty’s best line. And…transparent aluminum…brilliant! Well, now that I’ve exposed my inner nerd, once again, I will just go to bed.

Leave a Reply

