Tag line: Dave’s blog- now, with 1945% more embedded links. I kid you not.

Before we begin, a quick public service announcement.

Not that I don’t like trolls or faeries, but I’ve taken the pre-emptive measure of beating these two
with the ban stick. It isn’t that I don’t like shenanigans- nay, I hope to encourage them. But, rest assured ladies and
gentlemen, they will be shenanigans of my choosing.

Moving right along- let the shenanigans ensue. And ensue they will.

Two quick hits for ‘You Had to Be There’: First, a bow to Micky, who
rightfully bested me in our impromptu game of Name That Tune at wings
last week. My knowledge of the classics was simply not up to par– or,
rather, the speed at which said classics were dispensed.

Secondly: MikeW, how’s the injury?

TOOTH’s (The Order Of The Hfrisbee, for the uninitiated) goal of
playing ultimate frisbee in the snow will be hampered if our attendance
continues to dwindle. Four a side really doesn’t work when it’s cold,
and you tire easily.

Speaking of cold– as it turns out, curling starts again next week.
I’m looking forward to it, and have actually had thoughts of
starting up another team with more guys my age, be it from church or at work, or elsewhere. The trick, I figure, is
finding someone who’s good enough to skip.

So they’ve done away with time cards at work, moving to a palm scanner
(the one pictured in the link is the exact same one we have).
Initially, I was fairly skeptical- is this legal? How can a company who
is supposedly struggling have the resources to invest in something as
costly as this (To say nothing of what Safeway’s ‘rebranding‘ has
cost)? I have no complaints thus far- as it turns out, this thing does
not have my fingerprints- save for the questionable
location of the scanner, which is in the highest traffic
area of the
store, up by the customer service desk (to the left of Starbucks-
brilliant placement on that too, guys), right behind the tills, where
customers leave with their groceries. I imagine that’s intentional
(there’s a camera looking right at it),
but
it’s not very practical, with the location of our staff area being at
the other end of the store. To walk from the entrance to the staff area
and then back to the scanner is quite the journey. One could almost call it an exodus.

Petra comes to
Calgary on October 26, to Centre Street Church, on what is likely a
farewell tour. Christian rock loses some of it’s finest, but you know
these men of God will continue to serve Him in whatever they do, and I
wish them all well.

And if you don’t come to the concert, well… I’ll probably do nothing. But if you consider yourself a connoisseur of Christian rock, you’ll enjoy this. I think. Or is that the Pethead in me speaking?

Thank you, and good night.

7 thoughts on “

  1. Emmetovich

    *Clap*Clap*Clap*You truly are a king among the Bloggers. Nice work putting together all those links. So funny, too. I can’t believe Safeway has installed a Palm scanner. What a bleak and horrible future we live in.The shovel to the head video in your “ban stick” link is one of my favorites. It reminds me of another great, albeit fictional, and animated, video:”Football in the groin! Football in the groin!” – Homer

  2. miguel_senchez

    And speaking of football in the groin… Thanks for asking about the injury. I seem to have made a full recovery.  At least in a superficial sense.  I’ll know the long term effects when I try to reproduce.  If you like I can keep you posted but I am sure you would really rather I didn’t. Great Post!
    Mike

  3. Anonymous

    We have that palm scanner at Farm Boy….we’ve had it for about a year and a half…and that exact one too….We have competition to see who has the best number.

  4. ahub

    Sorry, but I don’t believe that I’m a big Petra fan…maybe I just need to listen to more of their stuff. I am, however, a fan of the Barenaked Ladies and Switchfoot.

  5. DangeresqueDan

    I am a Petra fan and it sucks that i cant go i would if i was in town. Ultimate frisbee it would five on four but i cant make that as well. Man i think im letting people down here ill try to get into town as soon as possble. And its funny big stores or any store at that always find a good place to put something that everyone has to use. Oh i agree with the KING of blogs comment.

  6. Shnuff

    Then you, Andrew, are clearly not a connoiseur (joking- respect, brother, as usual) Agreed on BNL, though I’m only lukewarm on Switchfoot. I can’t really explain why, either, since their music should be right up my alley.-DaveC

Leave a Reply

