“Now listen to me… 
Jo-LENE. I’ve got an army to raise and I must get to Nicaragua. I
require a window seat and an in-flight Happy Meal- and no pickles. Oh, God help you if I find pickles!”

The pic was from last summer. I no longer have my head shaved, much to my brother’s delight.

So they’re renovating the Safeway store I work at (making it what they
call a “lifestyle” store- you’ve more than likely seen the ads), and
construction is going on during the night. Coming in at six in the
morning for an early produce shift, we have to work around them. That,
and I can’t find anything now. Our aisle layout literally changes from
day to day. They’re doing it piecemeal over the next couple of months,
with an eye towards being done in September.

They could close down the store for a week or two, do it in one shot,
but apparently they can’t lose the buisness (or pay wages to
full-timers to do nothing). I guess I understand that end of it, but it
does make for a more irritating time of it while we change everything.
And, according to our manager,
they’re already behind, having been at it for less than a week.

This bodes well for future productivity- both for us and the construction crew.

I’m out.

7 thoughts on “

  1. Anonymous

    Hello, I was wondering if you were able to help me at all…
    I’ll be moving to Calgary soon, and I was wondering if SAIT is close to the U of C?
    if you know, get back to me on this one…that would rock.
    Thanks a lot.
    -Melanie

  2. Matuga

    Stop making me laugh, Mike.That picture does look kind of intimidating, now that I think of it. Or maybe that’s just the glare from the head.- Dennis

  3. i_fly_free

    LOL are you shaving again this summer dave? oh and no i would nt have seen the ads for the safeway upgrades as i dont have a computer and i wouldnt get canadian commercials down here anyways. lol

  4. i_fly_free

    The HaircutA young boy had just gotten his driving permit. He asked his father, who was a minister, if they could discuss the use of the car. His father took him to his study and said to him, “I’ll make a deal with you. You bring your grades up, study your Bible a little and get your hair cut and we’ll talk about it.” After about a month the boy came back and again asked his father if they could discuss use of the car. They again went to the father’s study where his father said, “Son, I’ve been real proud of you. You have brought your grades up, you’ve studied your Bible diligently, but you didn’t get your hair cut!”The young man waited a moment and replied, “You know Dad, I’ve been thinking about that. Samson had long hair, Moses had long hair, Noah had long hair, and even Jesus had long hair….”To which his father replied, “Yes, and they walked everywhere they went!”

  5. ahub

    Yo dude. That’s some rockin’ hair. Sound like Safeway is not so Safe. Nor is it the Way to go these days. Am I right? I’ll have to investigate further.

Leave a Reply

